Playbright

Backyard playsets

What is the weight limit on a trampoline?

Fourteen manuals and product pages, read side by side: the number that matters is printed per jumper, it is lower than most blogs say, and a bigger frame does not always raise it.

Updated 9 min readBackyard playsets

Short answer

Most backyard trampolines are rated for one jumper of 200 to 275 lb. Six of the eight 14 ft models compared here are rated 200 to 264 lb (median about 240 lb); only BERG (140 kg, 309 lb) and Zupapa (425 lb) go higher. Every manual says one person at a time, so there is no combined limit for several children. A frame or static capacity of 970 to 1,500 lb is not a jumping limit.

On this page
  1. The short answer
  2. Fourteen manuals, side by side
  3. The weight limit by size
  4. Jumper weight vs static or frame capacity
  5. Where the "3 to 4 times" rule comes from
  6. Can adults use a backyard trampoline?
  7. Several kids, and the age limit
  8. Where this stops applying
  9. What to do next

The short answer

Most backyard trampolines are rated for one jumper of 200 to 275 lb. Of the eight 14 ft models compared here, six are rated between 200 and 264 lb, and the median is about 240 lb17891015. Two go higher: BERG's Elite 14 ft at 140 kg (309 lb)13 and Zupapa at 425 lb16.

The figure people search for, "350 to 450 lbs" for a 14 ft trampoline, comes from blog tables, not from manuals. Trampolines.com gives a 14 ft round "350 to 450 lbs" as a typical single user limit18. The Skywalker SWOP14BBWS, a 14 ft round sold at mass retailers, says on its cover "Maximum user weight 220 lbs", and inside, "Only one person at a time" and not for children under 61. Only one of the eight 14 ft models compared here, Zupapa, falls in the blog's range.

Use the number printed in your own manual. If you do not have one, plan on about 220 lb for one jumper until you find the model's manual.

Fourteen manuals, side by side

Weight limits are set by each manufacturer. ASTM F381, the US consumer trampoline standard (voluntary, like the others in the standards explainer), is written for "trampolines used in a home environment by a single user"19 and publishes no user weight in its scope. Here is what the makers print:

Model and sizeMax user weightJumpers at onceMinimum age
Jumpking JK146PBH, 14 ft round90 kg (200 lb)One6
Skywalker SWOP14BBWS, 14 ft round220 lbOne6
JumpSport Elite, 14 ft round240 lbOne6
SkyBound springless, 14 ft round242 lb (110 kg)One6
ACON Air, 14 ft round242.5 lb (110 kg); 331 lb with extra spring kitOne recommendedNot stated on page
14 ft straight pole unit (Lowe's 68691734)264 lbOne6
BERG Elite 14 ft (430 cm)140 kg (309 lb)OneNot stated in English text
Zupapa Saffun, 12 to 15 ft425 lbNot stated on pageNot stated on page
Skywalker SWJD15, 15 ft round200 lbOne6
Skywalker SWTCS15, 15 ft square250 lbOne6
Skywalker SWOP15, 15 ft round275 lbOne6
SkyBound springless, 10 and 12 ft286 lb (130 kg)One6
BERG Elite 11 ft (330 cm)120 kg (265 lb)OneNot stated in English text
Springfree R79 (10 ft round) and O200 (oval)220 lb (100 kg)OneBoth warn against under 6
47 x 70.8 in rectangle (Lowe's 72697630)220 lb (100 kg)OneUsers 3 to 10
Skywalker 60 in mini100 lbOneDesigned for ages 3 to 7
Rated user weight as printed in each manual or product page1234678910111213141516. ACON and Zupapa figures are from product pages, not manuals. Pounds in brackets are converted from the kilogram figure.

Three manuals not in the table fill out the range. Skywalker's SWTC1500 is rated 200 lb5, an Airzone unit from Variflex 250 lb20, and an older Skywalker manual 175 lb21. None of those three prints its size in the text, so they are left out of the size rows.

Three patterns stand out.

  • One jumper, always. Every manual read says one person at a time. JumpSport puts both rules in one sentence: the trampoline "is intended to be used by one person at a time, weighing less than 240 pounds"7.
  • Size does not predict the limit. SkyBound rates its 14 ft at 242 lb and its 10 and 12 ft at 286 lb10. Skywalker's three 15 ft models run from 200 to 275 lb234, a wider spread than between most sizes.
  • The brand does not settle it either. Springfree's blog lists a "Skywalker 14 ft Trampoline" at 250 lb17; the SWOP14BBWS manual says 220 lb1. Both can be right for different models, which is why the model number matters.

The weight limit by size

If you search by size, this is what the models compared here actually allow:

SizeRated jumper weight foundModels
Mini (60 in)100 lbSkywalker
10 ft round220 to 375 lbSpringfree R79 220, SkyBound 286, Zupapa 375
11 to 12 ft round265 to 425 lbBERG 120 kg, SkyBound 286, Zupapa 425
14 ft round200 to 425 lb, median about 240Eight models, table above
15 ft round or square200 to 425 lbSkywalker 200, 250 and 275, Zupapa 425
Range of rated single jumper weights by frame size, from the manuals and product pages in the table above123467891012131516.

Jumper weight vs static or frame capacity

Two numbers circulate, and they measure different things. Springfree's blog sets them out: single jumper capacity is set "to protect jumpers from 'bottoming out'" at full height, while maximum structural weight is "the total amount of static weight a trampoline can hold without collapsing"17. Its Jumbo Square is rated 1,500 lb structural and 220 lb per jumper17.

None of the fourteen manuals read for this page prints a static or frame figure. Where one exists, it is on a product page or a blog:

ModelStatic or frame figureRated jumperRatio
ACON Air 14 ftFrame tested to 970 lb242.5 lb4.0x
Zupapa Saffun 14 ft1,500 lb (image captions)425 lb3.5x
Springfree Jumbo Square1,500 lb structural220 lb6.8x
Published static figures against rated jumper weight151617. Zupapa's page also says "the structure" can carry 425 lb, so the same page uses capacity for both numbers.

That is the source of the inflated answers. A headline like "1500 LBS weight capacity" is a standing load. Zupapa's own text describes 425 lb as what "the structure" can carry16, and Springfree's blog calls the same 425 lb a "single-jumper limit"17. Read whichever figure the manual calls maximum user weight.

Where the "3 to 4 times" rule comes from

Trampolines.com says that "by industry mandate, a trampoline must be structurally proven to support a static load 3 to 4 times its advertised single-user weight limit"18. It names no standard.

ASTM F381 does contain static load tests: its published section list includes a "Static Load Test on Trampoline Bed" and a "Static Load Test on Trampoline Frame"19. The loads themselves are in the paid text, which was not read for this page, so it cannot be said whether they are set as a multiple of the user weight. The figures that are published do not follow one ratio: 4.0x on the ACON, 3.5x on the Zupapa and 6.8x on the Springfree. Trampolines.com's own table breaks it, too: its mini trampoline row pairs 50 to 100 lb users with a 200 lb static figure, which is 2x at the top of the range18.

So treat a static figure as what it is, a measure of the frame. It does not let a heavier person jump, and dividing it by 3 or 4 does not give you a jumper limit.

Can adults use a backyard trampoline?

Yes, alone and under the rating. A 200 lb adult is at or over the limit on Jumpking's 14 ft (200 lb or less), Skywalker's SWJD15 and SWTC1500 (under 200 lb) and the older Skywalker (175 lb)83521. Every other full size model in the table allows more. Over 250 lb, the choices narrow to Skywalker SWOP15 (275 lb)2, the 264 lb Lowe's unit9, SkyBound's 10 and 12 ft (286 lb)10, BERG's 14 ft (309 lb)13 and Zupapa (425 lb)16. ACON raises its 14 ft to 331 lb only with an extra spring kit15, which shows the limit is set by the parts that stretch, not by the frame alone.

Near the limit, jump lower. Springfree's manuals say jumpers "at or near the Maximum User Weight should take extra precautions" so they do not touch the ground while jumping1112.

Small trampolines are a different product. The Skywalker 60 in mini is rated 100 lb and "designed for 3-7 years of age"6. The 47 x 70.8 in rectangle is rated 220 lb but for "users 3 to 10 years old"14, with a mat 15.7 inches up. Both fall outside ASTM F381's scope, which covers trampolines at least 20 inches high with a bed of at least 3,300 sq in19: a 60 in circle is about 2,800 sq in, and the rectangle's mat is too low. A toddler playset is a safer comparison for those ages than a full size trampoline.

Several kids, and the age limit

Combined weight is the most common misreading. A 250 lb rating does not mean two 100 lb children. Every manual here limits use to one person17814, and Skywalker's say why: "The jumper weighing the least is the jumper most likely to be injured"621. That matches what backyard trampolines sets out about collisions between jumpers, the largest source of home trampoline injuries, and what injury statistics can and cannot tell you about it.

The age floor is 6 for full size trampolines. ASTM F381 says trampolines that meet it "are not recommended for use by children under six years of age"19, and Skywalker, JumpSport, Jumpking, SkyBound and Springfree print the same rule1781011. Supervision covers what watching one jumper actually involves.

The same split between per user and whole structure figures shows up on swing sets. How much weight a swing set holds compares seat ratings, swing area totals and the pendulum load.

Where this stops applying

Every number here is the manufacturer's own, and none of the manuals says how it was set. ASTM F381's test loads are in the paid standard and were not read. A rating on one model does not carry to another from the same brand, as the three Skywalker 15 ft models show.

The ratings are for a trampoline in good condition. A mat with broken stitching, missing springs or a stretched bed is not the trampoline that was rated, and soft parts left out through a cold season are where that damage starts1 (winterizing covers what to take down), and repairs and replacement parts explains why replacements should match the original. F381 excludes institutional trampolines19, so gym and park equipment is outside this page, as are fitness rebounders.

For a used trampoline with no manual, a seller's figure is not a rating. Find the model number on the frame label and download the manual, the same way buying a used playset describes for swing sets.

What to do next

Write the maximum user weight on the frame near the ladder, and enforce one jumper at a time from the first day. If your heaviest jumper is close to the limit, choose a model rated above them rather than trusting the static figure. A higher rated trampoline is usually a larger one, so check how much space around a trampoline you need (6.5 ft clear on every side) and whether it fits a small yard at all. Then anchor it before the first storm: trampoline wind speed gives the gusts that move them. Add the mat, spring and net check to your annual maintenance list, and see backyard surfacing for the ground around it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the weight limit for a 14 ft trampoline?

Usually 200 to 265 lb for one jumper. Of the eight 14 ft models compared here, Jumpking is rated 200 lb, Skywalker SWOP14 220 lb, JumpSport Elite 240 lb, SkyBound 242 lb, ACON Air 242.5 lb and a 14 ft unit sold at Lowe's 264 lb. BERG's Elite 14 ft is rated 140 kg (309 lb) and Zupapa lists 425 lb. Read the number on your own manual's cover.

Can two kids jump on a trampoline if their combined weight is under the limit?

No. Every manual read for this page says one person at a time, and ASTM F381 is written for trampolines used by a single user. The weight limit is per jumper, so there is no combined figure to add children up against. Skywalker's manuals add that the lightest jumper is the one most likely to be injured when several share the mat.

Can adults use a backyard trampoline?

Yes, if the adult weighs less than the rated limit and the trampoline is used alone. Most full size models compared here allow 200 to 275 lb, BERG's 14 ft allows 140 kg (309 lb) and Zupapa lists 425 lb. Mini trampolines and small low rectangles are different: the Skywalker 60 in mini is rated 100 lb and for ages 3 to 7.

What does 1,500 lb weight capacity mean on a trampoline?

It is a static or structural figure: how much load the frame and mat carry standing still, not how heavy a jumper can be. Springfree's Jumbo Square is rated 1,500 lb structural but 220 lb per jumper, and ACON's 14 ft frame is tested to 970 lb with a 242.5 lb user limit. Use the jumper figure.

Does a bigger trampoline hold more weight?

Not reliably. SkyBound rates its 10 and 12 ft models at 286 lb and its 14 ft at 242 lb, and Skywalker's 15 ft models range from 200 to 275 lb depending on the model. Within one size the spread is wider than between sizes, so the model number decides the limit, not the diameter.

Sources

  1. 1
    Assembly, maintenance and user manual, model SWOP14BBWS/SWOP14PWS (14 ft round). Skywalker HoldingsMaximum user weight 220 lbs; only one person at a time; over 20 in tall not recommended under 6; 24 ft overhead
  2. 2
    Assembly, maintenance and user manual, model SWOP15 (15 ft round). Skywalker HoldingsMaximum user weight 275 lbs; one person at a time; not under 6
  3. 3
    Assembly, maintenance and user manual, model SWJD15 (15 ft round). Skywalker HoldingsMaximum user weight 200 lbs; one person at a time; not under 6
  4. 4
    Assembly, maintenance and user manual, model SWTCS15/SWTCS015 (15 ft square). Skywalker Holdings, Lowe's product document 42010155Maximum user weight 250 lbs; one person at a time; not under 6
  5. 5
    SWTC1500 trampoline and enclosure user's manual. Skywalker Holdings, Lowe's product document 08486562Maximum user weight 200 lbs; one person; not under 6
  6. 6
    Assembly, maintenance and user manual, 60 in mini trampoline. Skywalker Holdings, Lowe's product document 11493988Maximum user weight 100 lbs; designed for 3 to 7 years of age; one person at a time
  7. 7
    14ft JumpSport Elite Trampoline System user's manual. JumpSport, Inc., Lowe's product document 50272407One person at a time, weighing less than 240 pounds; over 20 in tall not recommended under 6
  8. 8
    14ft Trampoline and Enclosure, model JK146PBH, user guide. Jumpking, Lowe's product document 17913986Designed for users weighing 90 kg (200 lbs) or less; one person; not under 6
  9. 9
    14ft Trampoline with Enclosure Net (straight pole style), assembly and installation manual. Lowe's product document 68691734Maximum user weight 264 lbs; one jumper at any time; not under 6
  10. 10
    Springless trampoline assembly and installation manual (10, 12 and 14 ft). SkyBound USAMaximum weight limit 10 ft and 12 ft 286 lbs (130 kg), 14 ft 242 lbs (110 kg); one jumper; not under 6
  11. 11
    Assembly and Disassembly Instructions, O200 oval trampoline (772201). Springfree TrampolineMaximum user weight 220 lbs (100 kg); no more than one person at a time; not intended for children under 6
  12. 12
    Assembly and Disassembly Instructions, R79 round trampoline (736409). Springfree Trampoline, 201710 ft round; maximum user weight 220 lbs (100 kg); no more than one person at a time
  13. 13
    BERG Elite trampoline user manual. BERG Toys1 person at a time; 120 kg for the Elite 11 ft (330), 140 kg for the Elite 14 ft (430)
  14. 14
    Assembly instructions for trampoline and enclosure (47 x 70.8 in rectangle). Lowe's product document 72697630Maximum user weight 220 lbs (100 kg); mat 15.7 in from the ground; users 3 to 10 years old
  15. 15
    ACON Air 14 ft trampoline package with standard enclosure. ACON, product pageCE/ASTM certified user weight limit 242.5 lb (110 kg); frame tested to 970 lb; 331 lb with an additional spring kit; one jumper recommended
  16. 16
    Saffun 14 ft trampoline. Zupapa, product pageMax weight capacity 425 lbs for 12, 14 and 15 ft, 375 lbs for 8 and 10 ft; images captioned 1500 LBS weight capacity
  17. 17
    The Truth About Trampoline Weight Limits. Springfree TrampolineSingle jumper capacity versus maximum structural weight; Jumbo Square 1,500 lb structural, 220 lb single jumper
  18. 18
    How Much Weight Can a Trampoline Hold? Understanding Trampoline Weight Limits. Trampolines.com, June 17, 202414 ft round 350 to 450 lbs; static load 3 to 4 times the single user limit 'by industry mandate'
  19. 19
    ASTM F381-24, Standard Safety Specification for Components, Assembly, Use, and Labeling of Consumer Trampolines. ASTM International, 2024Scope and section list only: single user, home use, bed at least 3,300 sq in, at least 20 in high, not recommended under six; static load tests on bed and frame (section 6.7)
  20. 20
    Trampoline users manual (Airzone / Ultraflex). Variflex, Inc., Moorpark, California, Home Depot product documentWeight limit for trampoline user is 250 lb; one person
  21. 21
    Skywalker Trampolines user's manual (Lowe's product document 08486558). Skywalker HoldingsUsers who do not weigh more than 175 pounds; children under 6 should not jump on it