How many kids can be in a bounce house, and what is the weight limit?
Nine manuals and product pages, read side by side: a home bounce house carries three children and about a third of the weight of a rental unit, and the per child, combined and height limits all apply at the same time.
Short answer
Most backyard bounce houses are rated for 3 children at once, 250 to 300 lb combined, and 80 to 120 lb per child, for ages 3 to 8 or 3 to 10. Little Tikes and Bounceland allow 250 lb, Step2 and a Costway unit about 300 lb. A commercial 13 x 13 ft rental unit is rated 800 lb and 7 children. All of the limits apply together: count, each child's weight, total weight and height.
On this page
The short answer
A backyard bounce house holds 3 children at once, 250 to 300 lb in total, and 80 to 120 lb per child. Little Tikes and Bounceland rate their units at 250 lb27, Step2 at 300 lb8 and a Costway unit at 135 kg (298 lb)9. That is about a third of what a commercial rental unit carries: the Bouncing Angels 13 x 13 ft castle is rated 800 lb and 7 children under 1212.
The label has four limits, not one, and all four apply at once: how many children, how much each one weighs, how much they weigh together, and how tall they are. The one you hit first is your limit.
Nine bounce houses, side by side
There is no weight figure in the standards to fall back on. ASTM F2729 covers inflatables sold for private home use by children aged 2 through 1214; ASTM F2374 covers commercial units and excludes devices marketed for private home use15. Neither publishes a user weight in its scope, so the makers' labels are the rule. Here is what they print:
| Unit and size | Kids at once | Per child | Combined |
|---|---|---|---|
| Little Tikes Jump 'n Slide, 12 x 9 ft | 3 | 120 lb | 250 lb |
| Little Tikes Shady Jump 'n Slide, 12 x 9 ft | 3 | 120 lb | 250 lb |
| Little Tikes Jump 'n Double Slide, 14 x 9 ft | 3 | 120 lb | 250 lb |
| Bounceland Castle, 12 x 9 ft | 3 | 80 lb | 250 lb |
| Step2 Play Yard Inflatable Bouncer | 3 | 120 lb | 300 lb |
| Costway NP10798 | 3 | 45 kg (99 lb) | 135 kg (298 lb) |
| Intex Playhouse Jump-O-Lene, 5.7 ft square | 2 | Not stated | 120 lb |
| PL2412 home combo, 16.5 x 15 ft | 6 | 100 lb | 600 lb |
| Bouncing Angels 13 x 13 ft, commercial | 7 under 12, or 5 over 12 | Not stated | 800 lb |
The height and age limits sit beside those:
| Unit | Tallest user | Ages | Wind limit in manual |
|---|---|---|---|
| Little Tikes (all three) | 5 ft (152 cm) | 3 to 8 | 20 mph |
| Bounceland Castle | Not stated | 3 to 8 | Not on listing |
| Step2 Play Yard | Not stated | 3 to 8 | 20 mph |
| Costway NP10798 | 150 cm (about 4 ft 11 in) | 3 to 10, not under 3 | No number |
| PL2412 home combo | 5 ft (152 cm) | 3 to 10 | No number |
| Intex Jump-O-Lene | Not stated | 3 to 6 | Not on page |
| Bouncing Angels 13 x 13 ft | 6.5 ft | Not under 4 | 15 mph |
Six of the eight home units allow exactly three children. Intex's small Jump-O-Lene allows two, and the only home unit rated for more, the PL2412, is a 16.5 x 15 ft combo, larger than any other home unit in the table.
Per child, combined and height: which one binds
The combined limit is usually lower than the per child limit times the head count. Three children at Little Tikes' 120 lb each would weigh 360 lb, but the total is 250 lb2. So three children together can average no more than about 83 lb. Step2 allows 120 lb each and 300 lb in total8, an average of 100 lb across three.
Bounceland runs the other way. Three children at its 80 lb maximum weigh 240 lb, under the 250 lb total7, so the per child figure binds first: a 90 lb child is over the limit even alone. Costway's two figures meet almost exactly, 3 x 45 kg against 135 kg9.
Worked through for a Little Tikes unit:
- Three children at 60, 70 and 75 lb weigh 205 lb: within every limit.
- Three at 80, 85 and 90 lb weigh 255 lb: each is under 120 lb, but the group is over 250 lb, so one waits.
- One 125 lb child alone: over the 120 lb individual limit, even with the unit empty.
- A 5 ft 2 in eleven year old: over the 5 ft height limit and outside the 3 to 8 age range, whatever they weigh.
Why rental tables say 300, 500 and 800 lb
Search for a bounce house weight limit and the top answer is often a size table. Reservety, a rental software company, gives 300 lb for any 10 x 10 to 13 x 13 ft unit with 4 to 6 kids and about 75 lb each, 500 lb for 15 x 15 ft, and 800 lb for 20 x 20 ft13. It names no maker and no standard.
The manuals do not support sizing by footprint. A commercial 13 x 13 ft unit from Bouncing Angels is rated 800 lb and 7 children under 1212, the figure that table gives a 20 x 20 ft unit. Home units of 12 to 14 ft are rated 250 lb and 3 children257, so the table's "4 to 6 kids" overstates them. What sets the limit is the class of product, home or commercial, not its length and width. Home units at 250 to 300 lb carry 31% to 38% of the commercial 13 x 13 ft unit's 800 lb.
The difference is in the build. The Bouncing Angels unit is 18.5 oz commercial PVC vinyl, weighs 185 lb and runs on a 1 hp blower12. Little Tikes lists its 12 x 9 ft Jump 'n Slide at 38 lb1, about a fifth of that. The same split between a frame figure and a user figure appears on trampolines, where the trampoline weight limit is per jumper and far below the static capacity in product photos, and on swing sets, where swing set weight limits differ by seat, swing area and whole set.
Can adults or older kids go in?
Not in a backyard unit. Every home unit compared here caps each user at 80 to 120 lb, and those that print a height cap it at 5 ft or 150 cm2910. The Little Tikes and Step2 units are for ages 3 to 828; Costway and the PL2412 stretch to 10910. A parent climbing in to help a toddler breaks three limits at once.
Commercial units can be different. The Bouncing Angels 13 x 13 ft manual allows "5 adults or 5 users over 12 years of age", up to 800 lb and 6.5 ft tall12. If teenagers or adults are on the guest list, rent a unit rated for them and ask for its manual. If a church, school or club is the host, insurance and risk management covers what else to check before an event.
Group children by size, not just by count
A total that fits is not the whole rule. Little Tikes, Step2 and the PL2412 manual all say not to let children play together "who are unevenly matched in weight and height"2810. Bouncing Angels is the most specific: the supervisor groups users by relative size, and children with a weight gap of more than 20 lb should not use the unit at the same time12.
So a party of eight children of mixed ages is not three turns of whoever is next. It is a 4 year old group, a 7 year old group, and a rule that the older cousin waits. That matches the age appropriate zones thinking on public playgrounds, and it is what an adult at the door is for: supervision on a playground sets out what active watching looks like.
The age floor is 3, not 2
ASTM F2729 covers home inflatables for children aged 2 through 1214, but no maker compared here goes below 3. Little Tikes, Bounceland, Step2, Costway and Intex all start at 3178911, and Costway says the product is "not suitable for the children under 3 years"9. The Bouncing Angels commercial manual is stricter in its specifications ("Children under 4 years of age should not use this model") than in its posted rules (no children under 3)12; follow the stricter line.
At the top, the age ranges end at 6, 8 or 10. For a toddler, a small toddler playset is the closer fit, and what age a child can go on a trampoline sets out the age floor on the other bouncing product in the yard, 6 for a full size trampoline.
Where this stops applying
Every figure here is the maker's own, for that model. None of the manuals says how its weight limit was set, and a limit on one unit does not carry to another from the same brand: Bounceland's Castle allows 80 lb per child where Little Tikes allows 120 lb, on units of the same footprint27.
The limits assume a unit in good repair, fully inflated, on level ground and staked. Little Tikes and Step2 give the critical fall height of their inflatables as 27 in (69 cm) and want them on soft ground28; backyard surfacing and site prep and leveling cover the base, and Little Tikes wants 6.6 ft (2 m) of clearance in every direction2, which decides whether one fits a small yard. Wind overrides every weight limit: the Little Tikes and Step2 manuals stop at 20 mph and the commercial one at 15 mph2812, and how windy is too windy for a bounce house explains why 15 mph sustained is the safer stop. Water slides and pool combos add their own rules; see pools and play areas.
What to do next
Find the four limits on your unit's label or manual and write them on the blower: kids at once, per child, combined, and height. Weigh in your head before each turn, not after a seam has failed. Stake every anchor point, using the anchoring guide for soil that will not hold a stake. If you are renting, ask for the manual of the actual unit rather than a size chart. Then plan for the injuries that do happen: one size group at a time, no flips, an adult at the door, and a look at first aid and emergencies before the party. The backyard guides cover the rest of what goes in the yard.
Frequently asked questions
How many kids can be in a bounce house at once?
Three, on almost every backyard unit. Little Tikes, Bounceland, Step2 and Costway all print a maximum of 3 children, and a small Intex unit allows 2. A large 16.5 x 15 ft home combo allows 6. A commercial 13 x 13 ft rental unit from Bouncing Angels allows 7 children under 12, or 5 users over 12. The number on your own label wins.
What is the weight limit for a bounce house?
For a backyard unit, 250 to 300 lb combined, and 80 to 120 lb per child. Little Tikes and Bounceland rate 250 lb, Step2 300 lb, a Costway unit 135 kg (298 lb). A commercial 13 x 13 ft unit is rated 800 lb. Check the combined total and the per child figure: the first one you reach is the limit.
Can adults go in a bounce house?
Not in a backyard one. Every home unit compared here caps each user at 80 to 120 lb, and those that print a height cap it at 5 ft (152 cm). Some commercial units are rated for adults: the Bouncing Angels 13 x 13 ft manual allows 5 adults, up to 800 lb in total and 6.5 ft tall. Ask the rental company for the unit's manual.
Can a 2 year old go in a bounce house?
Not in any unit compared here. ASTM F2729 covers home inflatables for children aged 2 through 12, but every maker sets a higher floor: 3 years on Little Tikes, Bounceland, Step2, Costway and Intex units, and the Bouncing Angels commercial manual says children under 4 should not use that model.
Is a 13x13 bounce house weight limit 300 or 800 lb?
It depends on whether it is a home unit or a commercial one, not on the footprint. A rental software guide gives 300 lb for any 10 x 10 to 13 x 13 ft unit and cites no maker. The Bouncing Angels commercial 13 x 13 ft manual says 800 lb. Home units of 12 to 14 ft are rated 250 lb. Read the manual of the unit in front of you.
Sources
- 1Jump 'n Slide Bouncer (620072), product page. Little TikesMaximum number of kids 3, maximum weight limit up to 250 lb, ages 3 to 8, 144 x 108 x 72 in
- 2Jump 'n Slide Bouncer instructions for installation and operation (620072X3CP). Little Tikes3 children, 250 lb (113 kg) total, 120 lb (54 kg) individual, 5 ft (152 cm) maximum height, ages 3 to 8, 20 mph wind, 27 in critical fall height, 6.6 ft clearance
- 3Shady Jump 'n Slide Bouncer (620089), product page. Little TikesMaximum number of kids 3, up to 250 lb, ages 3 to 8, 144 x 108 x 72 in
- 4Shady Jump 'n Slide Bouncer instructions (620089). Little TikesSame 3 children, 250 lb total, 120 lb individual and 5 ft limits; 20 mph wind
- 5Jump 'n Double Slide Bouncer instructions (632891). Little Tikes3 children, 250 lb total, 120 lb individual, 5 ft maximum height, ages 3 to 8
- 6Jump 'n Double Slide Bouncer, product page. Little Tikes168 x 108 x 84 in, ages 3 to 8
- 7Bounceland Castle Bounce House, product listing. Bounceland, via Target listingAges 3 to 8, maximum weight 250 lb, 3 kids at one time, maximum individual weight 80 lb, 12 x 9 x 7 ft
- 8Play Yard Inflatable Bouncer assembly instructions (414399). Step2User limit 3 children, 120 lb (54 kg) per child, 300 lb total, ages 3 to 8, 20 mph wind, 27 in critical fall height
- 9Inflatable Bounce House user's manual (NP10798). CostwayMaximum 3 children, 45 kg (99 lb) each, 135 kg (298 lb) combined, 150 cm maximum height, ages 3 to 10, not under 3, home use only
- 10Inflatable Bouncer owner's manual (PL2412). Overstock product document198 x 180 x 96 in inflated; 6 children, 600 lb (270 kg) total, 100 lb (45 kg) individual, 5 ft (152 cm) maximum height, ages 3 to 10
- 11Playhouse Jump-O-Lene (48260EP), product page. Intex68.5 x 68.5 x 44 in; maximum weight capacity 120 lb, 2 children maximum, ages 3 to 6
- 12Owner's manual, Inflatable Castle Style Bouncer 13x13 ft. Bouncing Angels Inc.Maximum weight 800 lb; 7 children under 12 or 5 adults or users over 12; under 4 should not use this model; 6.5 ft height; 20 lb weight disparity; 15 mph wind
- 13Bounce House Weight Limit and Age Guide. Reservety, rental software vendor, 2026Size table: 10x10 to 13x13 300 lb, 15x15 500 lb, 20x20 800 lb; no maker or standard cited
- 14ASTM F2729-24, Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Constant Air Inflatable Play Devices for Home Use. ASTM International, 2024Scope: private home use, children aged 2 through 12
- 15ASTM F2374-24, Standard Practice for Design, Manufacture, Operation, and Maintenance of Inflatable Amusement Devices. ASTM International, 2024Scope: commercial use; excludes devices marketed directly to consumers for private home use by children